Amendments to the 2021 International Mechanical Code

Section 8. Adoption of Mechanical Code.

Certain documents, two (2) copies of which are on file in the office of the County Clerk of Franklin County, Government Center, Union, Missouri, being marked and designated as the International Mechanical Code/2021 and the Appendix are hereby referred to, adopted and made a part hereof, as if fully set out in this Order, with all future amendments, recommendations, and deletions that are evaluated and approved by the Franklin County Building Commission, with the additions, deletion, and changes, if any, prescribed in other section of this Order.

Section 9. Additions, Insertions, Deletions and Changes.

- 101.1 **Title**, is hereby amended by inserting the words "County of Franklin, State of Missouri January 1, 2024".
- 103.1 Insert Franklin County Building Department
- 106.4.3 **Expiration:** Change from 180 days to 365 days.
- 108.5 **Stop work orders**. Insert the amounts: not less than twenty-five dollars (\$25.00) nor more than (\$500.00).
- 109 **Fee schedule.** Refer to Commission Order No. _____ as amended and so ordered.
- 115.4 **Violation penalties.** Any person who shall violate a provision of this code or shall fail to comply with any of the requirements thereof or who shall erect, construct, alter or repair a building or structure in violation of an approved plan or directive of the code official, or of a permit or certificate issued under the provisions of this code, shall be guilty of a Class A Misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of not more than \$1,000.00, or by imprisonment not exceeding 365 days; or in lieu of fine, shall be charged double the amount of gain

preceding from the commission of such offense, not to exceed \$20,000.00. In case of a corporation, a fine may be imposed not to exceed \$5,000.00, or any higher amount not exceeding double the amount of the corporation's gain from the commission of the offense, as determined under Chapter 560.001 RSMo. Each day that a violation continues after due notice has been served shall be deemed a separate offense

309.1 **Required Heating.** When the winter design temperature in Table R301.2 (1) is below 60 degrees F (16 degrees C), every dwelling unit shall be provided with heating facilities capable of maintaining a minimum room temperature of 68 degrees F (20 degrees C) at a point 3 feet (914 mm) above the floor and 2 feet (610 mm) from exterior walls in all habitable rooms at the design temperature. The installation of one or more portable space heaters shall not be used to achieve compliance with this section nor shall the heat source be required to be manually fueled such as fireplaces, wood stoves and furnaces.